hello@irx.ie045 860 200Contact Us

IRX 2024 • IRX vs BRX Tickets

About IRX

The sport of Rallycross was conceived over 50 years ago, with the first meeting taking place at Lydden Hill circuit in southern England in 1967. The quickfire nature of heats with various different cars competing for places in the finals, was conceived with TV coverage in mind, and remains a big crowd pleaser even today.

In 1982, the Irish Rallycross was started and the sport was popular enough to attract a round of the European Rallycross Championship on a number of occasions in the 1990s.

Ireland has a history of producing Rallycross drivers who were capable of winning championships abroad. Two notable examples are the legendary Dermot Carnegie who won an incredible 16 titles in Ireland and Britain, including eight Irish, two Northern Irish and six British wins, and of course Derek Tohill, who added the 2021 British title to his two European Championships and numerous Irish titles too. Tohill still competes regularly in the IRX and despite his undoubted skill and pedigree, doesn’t always have it all his own way!